1. Education

The Anatomy of theBrain

By , black-rose-bielefeld.de Guide

8 of 9

The LimbicSystem
The Anatomy of theBrain

The amygdala is one of the major structures found in the limbic system.

Image by Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, and Technology(MEXT) Integrated Database Project

The limbic system is comprised of four main structures: the amygdala, the hippocampus, regions of the limbic cortex and the septal area. These structures form connections between the limbic system and the hypothalamus, thalamus and cerebral cortex. The hippocampus is important in memory and learning, while the limbic system itself is central in the control of emotional responses.

Next: Basal Ganglia

Suggested Reading
Related Articles
Kendra Cherry

Kendra Cherry
Psychology Guide

  • Sign up for My Newsletter
See More About
  • the brain
  • biopsychology

2022 black-rose-bielefeld.de. All rights reserved.