1. Education

Stages of Change - How to Keep aResolution

By , black-rose-bielefeld.de Guide

3 of 8

Stage 1 -Precontemplation
Stages of Change - How to Keep aResolution

Precontemplation Stage

The earliest stage of change is known as precontemplation. During the precontemplation stage, people are not considering a change. People in this stage are often described as "in denial" due to claims that their behavior is not a problem.

If you are in this stage, you may feel resigned to your current state or believe that you have no control over your behavior. In some cases, people in this stage do not understand that their behavior is damaging or are under-informed about the consequences of their actions.

If you are in this stage, begin by asking yourself some questions. Have you ever tried to change this behavior in the past? How do you recognize that you have a problem? What would have to happen for you to consider your behavior a problem?

Next: Stage 2 - Contemplation

Suggested Reading
Related Articles
  • The Precontemplation Stage
  • The Process of Change - Low Cholesterol
  • What Is the Stages of Change Model
  • Alzheimer's Symptoms - Stages of Alzheimer's Symptoms
  • The Stages of Change
Kendra Cherry

Kendra Cherry
Psychology Guide

  • Sign up for My Newsletter
See More About
  • behavior change
  • behaviorism

2022 black-rose-bielefeld.de. All rights reserved.